The A to Z of Mormonism by Davis Bitton; Thomas G. AlexanderMormonism is the unofficial name for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, which originated in the early 1800s. Mormonism refers to the doctrines taught by Joseph Smith, doctrines that are believed to be original gospel preached by Jesus Christ. The Mormons oppose abortion, homosexuality, unmarried sexual acts, pornography, gambling, tobacco, consuming alcohol, tea, coffee, and the use of drugs. Despite its relatively young age, the Mormon Church continues to grow, and today it contains about 13 million members. The A to Z of Mormonism relates the history of the Mormon church through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on crucial persons, organizations, churches, beliefs, and events. Clearing up many of the misconceptions held about Mormonism and its members, this is an essential reference.
Call Number: BX 8605.5 .B58 2009
Publication Date: 2009
The Book of Mormon by Grant Hardy (Editor)Regarded as sacred scripture by millions, the Book of Mormon -- first published in 1830 -- is one of the most significant documents in American religious history. This new reader-friendly version reformats the complete, unchanged 1920 text in the manner of modern translations of the Bible, with paragraphs, quotations marks, poetic forms, topical headings, multichapter headings, indention of quoted documents, italicized reworkings of biblical prophecies, and minimized verse numbers. It also features a hypothetical map based on internal references, an essay on Book of Mormon poetry, a full glossary of names, genealogical charts, a basic bibliography of Mormon and non-Mormon scholarship, a chronology of the translation, eyewitness accounts of the gold plates, and information regarding the lost 116 pages and significant changes in the text.The Book of Mormon claims to be the product of three historical interactions: the writings of the original ancient American authors, the editing of the fourth-century prophet Mormon, and the translation of Joseph Smith. The editorial aids and footnotes in this edition integrate all three perspectives and provide readers with a clear guide through this complicated text. New readers will find the story accessible and intelligible; Mormons will gain fresh insights from familiar verses seen in a broader narrative context. This is the first time the Book of Mormon has been published with quotation marks, select variant readings, and the testimonies of women involved in the translation process. It is also the first return to a paragraphed format since versification was added in 1879.
Call Number: BX 8623
Publication Date: 2003-06-17
Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements by Peter B. Clarke (Editor)New Religious Movements (NRMs) are radically changing the way people understand and practice religion and spirituality. The Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements provides uniquely global coverage of the phenomenon, with entries on over three-hundred movement from almost every country in the world. Coverage includes movements that derive from the major religions of the world and to neo-traditional movements, movements often overlooked in the study of NRMs.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2005-12-20
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by Charles H. Lippy; Peter W. Williams'Encyclopedia of Religion in America' examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America. This authoritative four-volume reference work explains the origins, development, adaptation, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practised, including major world religions, new religious sects, cults, and religious movements that originated or had an influence in the United States.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Mormonism (or the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints): what everyone needs to know by Givens, TerrylMormonism, or the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, is America's most successful--and most misunderstood--home grown religion. Avoiding the textbook, narrative approach of most introductions, this volume instead poses well over a hundred commonly asked questions--and some not so common!--and provides thoughtful, short essays in response. The question and answer format means enhanced readability; perfect for casual browsing or in-depth study. General topics include theology, culture, history, scripture, and practice.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2020
Women and Mormonism by Kate Holbrook (Editor); Matthew Bowman (Editor)How do women who are members of a predominantly male-led church experience personal agency in formal religious settings, in intimate relationships, and within themselves? From Jane Manning James, an African American woman who found empowerment and strength in Mormon ritual despite suffering exclusion based on her race, to contemporary church members who are more likely to prioritize personal revelation than hierarchy, Mormon women have answered this question in a number of ways. This engaging and seminal volume employs a variety of sources--vivid primary documents, candid surveys, and illuminating oral histories--to explore the perspectives of Latter-day Saint (LDS) women. The expansive approach of this essay collection highlights an assortment of individuals, viewpoints, and challenges that ultimately invigorate our understanding of women and religion. Contributors include lay members and prominent scholars in multiple disciplines, including both LDS and non-LDS viewpoints.