This guide introduces you to resources for this subject area. The resources listed here are a small number of those available. For more information, contact a librarian at 303-963-3250, through Chat, or the Book a Librarian service.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
These are often good places to begin your research. They provide a brief overview of topics and bibliographies for further reading.
"Missiology," from The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by Brian Stanley; Ian A. Mcfarland; David A. S. Fergusson; Karen Kilby; Iain R. TorranceWith over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2011-02-24
"Mission, Theology of" in the Global Dictionary of Theology by C. Van Engen in William A. Dyrness; Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen (Editor); Simon Chan (Associate Editor); Juan F. Martinez (Associate Editor)Theological dictionaries are foundational to any theological library. But until now there has been no Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.The Global Dictionary of Theology is inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South. But it also reflects the increase in two-way traffic between these two sectors as well as the global awareness that has permeated popular culture to an unprecedented degree.The editorial perspective of the Global Dictionary of Theology is an ecumenical evangelicalism that is receptive to discovering new facets of truth through listening and conversation on a global scale. Thus a distinctive feature of the Global Dictionary of Theology is its conversational approach. Contributors have been called on to write in the spirit of engaging in a larger theological conversation in which alternative views are expected and invited.William A. Dyrness, Veli-Matti K#65533;rkk#65533;inen, Juan F. Martinez and Simon Chan edit approximately 250 articles written by over 100 contributors representing the global spectrum of theological perspectives.Pastors, theological teachers, theological students and lay Christian leaders will all find the Global Dictionary of Theology to be a resource that unfolds new dimensions and reveals new panoramas of theological perspective and inquiry. Here is a new launching point for doing theology in today's global context.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2008-10-10
Dictionary of Mission Theology by John Corrie (Editor); Samuel Escobar (Consultant Editor); Wilbert R. Shenk (Consultant Editor); Simon Chan (Associate Editor); Juan F. Martinez (Associate Editor)A spectre is haunting Europe-the spectre of Communism. All the Powers of old Europe have entered into a holy alliance to exorcise this spectre: Pope and Czar, Metternich and Guizot, French Radicals and German police-spies.Where is the party in opposition that has not been decried as Communistic by its opponents in power? Where is the Opposition that has not hurled back the branding reproach of Communism, against the more advanced opposition parties, as well as against its reactionary adversaries?Two things result from this fact.I. Communism is already acknowledged by all European Powers to be itself a Power.II. It is high time that Communists should openly, in the face of the whole world, publish their views, their aims, their tendencies, and meet this nursery tale of the Spectre of Communism with a Manifesto of the party itself.
Call Number: REF BV 2040 .D53 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-23
Encyclopedia of Mission and Missionaries by Jonathan J. Bonk (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Missions and Missionariesexamines the nature and effects of missionary work around the world and throughout history, analyzing how secular and clerical people from major religions (especially Christianity, Buddhism and Islam) have brought social changes along with words of a new faith.
Call Number: REF BV 2040 .E48 2007
Publication Date: 2007-10-18
Global Christianity: a guide to the world's largest religion from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe by Gina ZurloExplore Christian life in every corner of the world. Christianity is now a majority-global South religion, with more believers living in Africa, Asia, and Latin America than in Europe and North America. However, most Americans have little exposure to Christians around the world. In addition, the United States is still the country that sends the most international missionaries. While many American churches support missionaries overseas, they may not understand the beliefs, practices, histories, and challenges Christians experience abroad. Global Christianity is an accessible quick-reference guide to the global church. Filled with at-a-glance maps and charts, it puts relevant and up-to-date information into the hands of churches, mission organizations, and individuals. Useful for prayer, missions, outreach, and study of the global church, this is the new standard resource on the world's largest religion. Understand Christianity within each continent, country, tradition, and movement with: Current demographic information from the United Nations Research from the Center for the Study of Global Christianity A focus on historical, sociological, political, and religious contexts "Things to consider" within each local context, such as political conflicts, church-state relations, religious freedom, gender equality, education, health, economics, and climate change. This resource will satisfy those looking for background on the global church and equip individuals and churches to strategically pray for, give to, and unite with fellow Christians around the world.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2022-09-06
The SAGE encyclopedia of the sociology of religionThe SAGE Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Religion takes a look at the role of religion in society; unpacking and evaluating the significance of religion in and on human history; and tracing and outlining the social forces and influences that shape religion.