Skip to Main Content
This guide introduces you to resources for this subject area. The resources listed here are a small number of those available. For more information, contact a librarian at 303-963-3250, through Chat, or the Book a Librarian service.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
These are often good places to begin your research. They provide a brief overview of topics and bibliographies for further reading.
Encyclopedia of American Religious History by Edward L. Queen; Stephen R. Prothero; Gardiner H. Shattuck; Martin E. Marty (Foreword by)
In two comprehensive volumes, a team of American religious history scholars outlines the varied and numerous philosophies, personalities, social issues, and cultural history of religious practices in America. Recognizing its debt to the past and drawing on current scholarship, this timely sourcebook reflects the significant issues and the present state of the field of American religious history. More than 700 alphabetically arranged entries make it easy for readers to explore the complex tapestry of America's religious heritage.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of World History by Janice J. Terry (Editor); Jiu-Hwa Lo Upshur (Editor); Marsha E. Ackermann (Editor); Michael Schroeder (Editor); Mark Whitters (Editor)
This seven-volume encyclopedia offers a balanced presentation of human history for a global perspective of the past. A team of distinguished world history academics has brought together scores of specialists in writing signed entries based on the latest scholarship.Based on the National Standards for World History and influenced by the National Standards for World History, this comprehensive and authoritative set is rich in features to make the study of world history easier for students to understand. Arranged in six chronological eras that span from prehistory to the present day, this chronological approach follows the way world history is taught and studied in the classroom. Each volume era begins with essays that tackle large themes - such as agriculture, science and technology, social and class relationships, trade and cultural exchanges, and warfare - that allow students to make connections and trace key global patterns over time. The final volume contains primary documents, a chronology, and a master index for the set.It contains thematic essays that help students make comparisons and connections across regions and time periods. It is based on primary source documents, carefully chosen to be representative of the six world eras. It is informative with cross-referenced entries. It also includes: Chronologies in every volume to help students place events in context; More than 600 illustrations, including a 32-page insert of full-color maps in each volume designed to convey the importance of geography in world history; An appendix in each volume; Further reading sections that encourage further research; Individual volume indexes; And a comprehensive set index.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Address: 8787 W. Alameda Ave. Lakewood, CO 80226 Phone: 303-963-3250 Email: