These are often good places to begin your research. They provide a brief overview of topics and bibliographies for further reading.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health by
The third edition of The Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health is a completely updated edition that contains over 65 new entries with a total of 840 entries. The four-volume set provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, along with issues related to physical and cognitive/behavioral development. It is an appropriate resource for parents, teachers, and allied health students. Features and Benefits *Thematic outline. * The GALE ENCYCLOPEDIA OF CHILDREN'S HEALTH, 3rd ed. answers consumer questions about children's health from prenatal care through adolescence. * An advisory board helped develop the topic list and review the content.
The Gale encyclopedia of emerging diseases by
This book is a guide to information on infectious diseases that have either lately appeared for the first time in a population or have recently rapidly increased in incidence such as COVID-19, Ebola, Lassa Fever, MERS, Rift Valley Fever, and Zika virus. Articles avoid medical jargon and use language that laypersons can understand while still providing authoritative, balanced information that addresses pathogens that are causing and threaten to cause significant health crises.
The Gale encyclopedia of genetic disorders by
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
ale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Fifth Edition is a health reference product designed to inform and educate readers about a wide variety of health topics, including diseases, disorders, conditions, treatments and diagnostic tests, diets, alternative treatments, and prevention. Gale, Cengage Learning believes the product to be comprehensive, but not necessarily definitive. It is intended to supplement, not replace, consultation with a physician or other healthcare practitioners.
The Gale encyclopedia of nursing and allied health by
This set provides more than 1,200 alphabetically arranged entries, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health by
Provides a comprehensive survey of topics covering a variety of issues related to aging and the elderly in five main entry types: diseases/conditions; treatment, rehabilitation, and recovery; aging, general health, and death and dying; preventative lifestyle choices; and community and care-giving options
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders is an in-depth encyclopedia aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication--both normal and disordered--across the lifespan. This timely and unique set looks at the spectrum of communication disorders, from causation and prevention to testing and assessment; through rehabilitation, intervention, and education. The encyclopedia covers a wide range of health issues, such as Asperger′s syndrome, fetal alcohol syndrome, anatomy of the human larynx, and dementia. It also includes topics on core psychology and cognitive sciences, for example social development, stigma, language acquisition, self-help groups, memory, depression, memory, Behaviorism, and cognitive development. Education is covered in topics such as cooperative learning, special education, and classroom-based service delivery, Entries across the four volumes come from top researchers and clinicians from multiple fields.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Call us
303-963-3250
Text-a-Librarian
303-622-5333
Address: 8787 W. Alameda Ave. Lakewood, CO 80226 Phone: 303-963-3250 Email: cculibrary@ccu.edu