See CINAHL's Subject Headings (top of page in CINAHL database) as a type of thesaurus and a tutorial here.
National Library of Medicine's MESH (Medical Subject Headings) search
Understanding Medical Words: A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
See also the Oxford medical handbooks of....(various topics). Examples are Oxford Handbook of Critical Care and others are of Clinical Haematology, Gastrointestinal Nursing / Neurology / Palliative Care / Obstetrics and Gynecology / Respiratory care, etc.
Bioethics for Nurses by
Recovering the foundation of faith in a profession enduring the pressures of a rapidly changing health-care system. If you are one of the millions of Christian nurses or nursing students in the United States, you already know that there is no real way to separate your faith commitments from your professional vocation--nor would you want to. Especially amid the bedlam of the COVID-19 pandemic, faith has given countless nurses the strength to carry on and be there for their patients, one exhausting shift after another. Bioethics for Nurses, the first book of its kind, is for nurses and nurses in training who still believe in treating the whole person--not just their medical condition. It is for those committed to living out the love of Jesus Christ through the warm, relational care they provide for all hurting and vulnerable people--including those in underserved populations--each of whom has the dignity of a human being made in the image of God.
Called to Care: A Christian Vision for Nursing by
Nursing is a vocation: a calling from God to care for others. The role of the nurse originally grew out of a holistic Christian understanding of humans as created in the image of God. Yet as nursing and healthcare continue to change, the effects have proven disorienting to many. Now more than ever, we need nurses who are committed both to a solid understanding of their profession and to caring well for patients and their families. For over twenty years, Called to Care has served as a unique and essential resource for nurses. In this third edition Judith Allen Shelly and Arlene B. Miller, now joined by coauthor Kimberly H. Fenstermacher, present a definition for nursing based on a historically and theologically grounded vision of the nurse's call: Nursing is a ministry of compassionate and restorative care for the whole person, in response to God's grace, which aims to promote and foster optimum health (shalom) and bring comfort in suffering and death for anyone in need. Focusing on the features of the nursing metaparadigm--person, health, environment, and nursing--they provide a framework for understanding how the Christian faith relates to the many aspects of a nurse's work, from theory to everyday practice. This new edition of Called to Care is thoroughly revised for today's nurses, including updated examples and new content on topics such as cultural competency, palliative care, and the current state of healthcare and nursing education.
Clinical Research Issues in Nursing by
This book is a collection of work that demonstrates the needs and importance of addressing many under-explored issues in clinical issues in nursing. The objectives of this book are: to heighten research students' awareness of the scholarship of both the formulation of research design and the issues of clinical research, and to equip them with ideas and strategies to develop their own research proposal and implement a research project. This book hopes to offer some contextual understanding on clinical research issues in nursing in a Chinese context.
Clinical Skills for Nurses by
Specifically designed for student nurses, Clinical Skills for Nurses provides a handy, portable introduction to both the knowledge and practical procedures that first year nursing students require. Giving you the knowledge behind the skill, this book will boost your confidence and competence for your clinical placements and time in the clinical skills lab. Clinical Skills for Nurses covers the skills and procedures used most frequently in clinical practice, and includes Point of Care training; blood transfusion and tracheotomy care; continence and bowel care; and early patient assessment and response. This book uniquely incorporates words of wisdom and advice from real-life student nurses; in other words: developed by students, for students! Special features: Tips, advice and words of wisdom from real-life students included throughout Pocket sized for portability on your clinical placement Clear, straightforward, and jargon-free Ties in with the NMC standards for pre-registration education and the Essential Skills Clusters Examples and questions based on real life nursing & healthcare examples
Communicating Rare Diseases and Disorders in the Digital Age by
A primary concern of rare disease diagnosis is the lack of accurate information that may lead to delayed interventions, administering inaccurate treatments, and social consequences. Health communication continues to be one-way and rely on the expertise from the health practitioner.
Leadership in Nursing Practice: Changing the Landscape of Health Care by
Leadership in Nursing Practice: Changing the Landscape of Health Care, Third Edition, gives nursing students the opportunity to develop the leadership skill set they will need to succeed in the field. The text acknowledges that not all nurses will be managers, but that all, regardless of career path, will be leaders. The Third Edition focuses on current leadership, innovation, and organization theory and prepares students for a transition into leadership positions.
Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators by
To succeed as leaders of a diverse, multigenerational workforce, nurse managers and executives need to have both traditional management skills and a contemporary, creative mindset. Management and Leadership for Nurse Administrators, Eighth Edition, is a comprehensive overview of key management and administrative concepts that are critical to leading healthcare organizations and ensuring patient safety and quality care.
Nurse burnout: combating stress in nursing by
Nursing is more than a job. It is a profession that attracts those who value compassion, want to make a difference in other people's lives, and want to do greater good in the world. While the profession provides endless options of practice, settings, and flexibility, nurses are burning out due to schedules, long shifts, mental and physical exhaustion, workload, conflict and bullying, challenging patients, rapid advances in technology, and lack of control. And when stress and fatigue take over a nurse's ability to prioritize self-care and recovery time, patient safety and quality is greatly affected and compromised. Nurse Burnout: Overcoming Stress in Nursing explores the stress-fatigue-burnout connection, the risks involved, and defines the health concerns and practice considerations for how to move the profession forward.
Nursing as Ministry by
Nursing as Ministry provides the foundations of Christian nursing as ministry, taking an interprofessional perspective with contributors with backgrounds in theology, nursing, biology, and pastoral ministry. The need for a contemporary, evidence-based text has been identified and will be offered with an abundance of resources including robust pedagogical features that include critical thinking exercises, interviews with nurse leaders, case studies, suggestions for faith integration in daily nursing care, and more. Designed to be a student-friendly textbook for faith-based schools, this first edition text focuses on nursing as ministry, not just spiritual care. Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access, unlocking a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
The Way of Medicine: Ethics and the Healing Profession by
Today's medicine is spiritually deflated and morally adrift; this book explains why and offers an ethical framework to renew and guide practitioners in fulfilling their profession to heal. What is medicine and what is it for? What does it mean to be a good doctor? Answers to these questions are essential both to the practice of medicine and to understanding the moral norms that shape that practice. The Way of Medicine articulates and defends an account of medicine and medical ethics meant to challenge the reigning provider of services model, in which clinicians eschew any claim to know what is good for a patient and instead offer an array of "health care services" for the sake of the patient's subjective well-being. Against this trend, Farr Curlin and Christopher Tollefsen call for practitioners to recover what they call the Way of Medicine, which offers physicians both a path out of the provider of services model and also the moral resources necessary to resist the various political, institutional, and cultural forces that constantly push practitioners and patients into thinking of their relationship in terms of economic exchange.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Call us
303-963-3250
Text-a-Librarian
303-622-5333
Address: 8787 W. Alameda Ave. Lakewood, CO 80226 Phone: 303-963-3250 Email: cculibrary@ccu.edu