This guide introduces you to resources for this subject area. The resources listed here are a small number of those available. For more information, contact a librarian at 303-963-3250, through Chat, or the Book a Librarian service.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
These are often good places to begin your research. They provide a brief overview of topics and bibliographies for further reading.
The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors by Esther Gwinnell; Christine A. AdamecThe Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors is an A-to-Z reference to addictive behaviorsOCotheir signs, symptoms, and causes, as well as how to recognize and treat them. More than 300 entries provide a comprehensive overview of individual addictions as well as overlapping issues, such as emotional problems, family dysfunction, and difficulties with employment. This invaluable resource also provides theoretical and practical information on how people who are addicted to various substances or behaviors can, with hard work and assistance from others, often recover and go on to lead normal, productive lives. The value of this informative guide is increased by extensive appendixes providing further resources and up-to-date information."
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Yolanda Kaye Jackson (Editor)SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology. During the past 30 years, the study of racial and ethnic minority issues in psychology has evolved to what can be considered a significant and rapidly growing subfield within psychology. This volume represent a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Coverage includes contributions from all the major areas including: social; developmental; methodological; clinical; industrial/organizational; health; educational; and school and family psychology. Key features include: - supportive discussion on culture, not race, as the best way to understand differences among individuals; - a focuses on culture to provide a reference to the terms, concepts and issues used in this field; - a thorough overview of the psychology of racial, ethnic and minority issues and covers all of the major ethnic groups and subgroups; - a discussion on the sociological issues as well as conceptual issues relevant to the field of multicultural psychology. Key themes include: - Conceptual Issues; - Cultural Concerns; - Ethnic Groups; - Indigenous Concerns; - Measurement; - Professional Organizations; - Psychopathology; - Sociological Issue; - Treatment. Topics covered include: - academic achievement; - acculturation; - affirmative action; - community interventions; - education; - health; - immigrants; - prejudice; - racial identity development; - social ecology; - stereotyping; - teaching multiculturalism; - tokenism; - values; - violence; - worldviews.
The Gale encyclopedia of psychologyThis resource covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family Relations by James J. PonzettiThe second edition of the International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family revises and expands Macmillan's 1995 Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family, adopting an international, cross-cultural approach to such diverse topics as adolescent parenthood, family planning, cohabitation, widowhood, domestic violence, child abuse and neglect, codependency and commuter marriages. It includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2003-11-01
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders by Jack S. Damico (Editor); Martin J. Ball (Editor)The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders is an in-depth encyclopedia aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication--both normal and disordered--across the lifespan. This timely and unique set looks at the spectrum of communication disorders, from causation and prevention to testing and assessment; through rehabilitation, intervention, and education. The encyclopedia covers a wide range of health issues, such as Asperger′s syndrome, fetal alcohol syndrome, anatomy of the human larynx, and dementia. It also includes topics on core psychology and cognitive sciences, for example social development, stigma, language acquisition, self-help groups, memory, depression, memory, Behaviorism, and cognitive development. Education is covered in topics such as cooperative learning, special education, and classroom-based service delivery, Entries across the four volumes come from top researchers and clinicians from multiple fields.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2019-04-10
Mental Health and Mental Disorders by Len Sperry (Editor)Serving as an indispensable resource for students and general-interest readers alike, this three-volume work provides a comprehensive view of mental health that covers both mental well-being and mental illness. A three-volume ready-reference encyclopedia, this up-to-date work supplies a holistic introduction to the fields of mental health and mental disorders that is written specifically for high school students and college students. Covering the full continuum of mental health, the set describes typical functioning, including biology and neurology of the brain, emotions, and the traits and characteristics of mental well-being. It also addresses mental disorders and conditions, from obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD) and post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) to phobias and schizophrenia. Mental Health and Mental Disorders: An Encyclopedia of Conditions, Treatments, and Well-Being highlights important concepts and phenomena, key individuals, treatment techniques, organizations, and diagnostic tools to give readers a complete view of this broad field of study. It also investigates all sides of wellness, exploring what it means to be "normal" and consistently identifying the links between lifestyle and mental health. The encyclopedia is consistent with the goals of AP psychology curricula and addresses the various disorders classified in the new edition of the APA Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-V-TR). * Provides exhaustive content that affords readers a holistic understanding of mental health and mental disorders * Features extensive cross-referencing that allows readers to easily see connections and relationships between different entries * Offers end-of-entry further readings that serve as a gateway to additional information for study * Reflects on common perceptions and portrayals of mental health through a variety of pop culture-oriented entries that focus on subjects such as television shows and movies