These are often good places to begin your research. They provide a brief overview of topics and bibliographies for further reading.
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology by
How do athletes overcome fears, slumps, mental blocks, or injuries? How do they deal with stress and anxiety, be it from competitors, teammates, audiences, parents, coaches, or themselves? What psychological techniques prove effective in mental training for peak performance, maintaining concentration, motivation, and competitive drive? How can an athlete enhance his or her commitment to a training regimen, or how might the average person better adhere to a program of fitness and exercise? Readers will find answers to these questions and more in the Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology. Features & Benefits: Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings. From personal factors to situational factors influencing performance to specific psychological techniques for enhancing performance, this work provides comprehensive coverage of the field via approximately 350 to 400 signed entries. Entries conclude with cross-references and suggestions for further readings to guide students further in their research journey. Available in print and online, this monumental work is edited by two leading figures in the field with a distinguished international Editorial Advisory Board to select and assign entries, ensuring authoritative content readers can trust. Key Themes: Career Transition Certification, Credentialing, and Roles of Sport and Exercise Psychologists Disability Emotion Exercise Health Group Dynamics History and Foundation Leadership Morality, Aggression, and Ethics in Sport Motivation Motor Control Perception and Cognition in Sport Personality and Psychological Characteristics in Sport Psychobiology Psychological Skills/Interventions Psychosociocultural Self-Concept/Self-Perceptions, and Identity Youth Sport
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by
This four-volume set introduces, on the management side, principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance; leadership; governance; communication; business law and ethics; and human resources practices; all in the sports context. On the marketing side this reference resource explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and of sport-related products (promoting a particular team or selling team- and sport-related merchandise, for example), and using sports as a platform for marketing non-sports products, such as celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament. Together, these four volumes offer a comprehensive and authoritative overview of the state of sports management and marketing today, providing an invaluable print or online resource for student researchers.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by
With an ever-growing variety of sports and exercise opportunities open to people of all ages, classes, and races, participation in casual sports has blossomed in recent decades, while interest in collegiate and professional sports has continued to soar. The field of sports medicine is thriving in response to the demand for health care professionals to care for people involved in vigorous exercise. Now more than ever, it is imperative that doctors, physical therapists, surgeons, nurses, and alternative medicine practitioners understand and are able to treat effectively the types of conditions stemming from all types of physical activity, ranging from pleasure walking to professional football. Presenting state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications, this four-volume resource provides the most comprehensive and accessible information available on sports medicine. The Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine describes all aspects of the field with perspectives, concepts, and methods from the medical, behavioral, and social sciences and physical education. Key Features · Includes contributions from preeminent healthcare professionals who are renowned experts · Presents a broad spectrum of entries covering a variety of key topics, a glossary, and two appendices · Contains more than 550 tables and images, including anatomical drawings, X-rays, and MRI scans · Illustrates selected diagnostic and treatment techniques step-by-step with more than 200 photographs · Offers an in-depth examination of the various career opportunities in this area, including orthopedists, athletic trainers, sports psychologists, and nutritionists Key Themes · Conditioning and Training · Diagnosis and Treatment of Sports Injuries · Diet and Nutrition · Doping and Performance Enhancement · Exercise Physiology, Biomechanics, Kinesiology · Injuries and Disorders · Injury Prevention · Medical Conditions Affecting Sports Participation · Rehabilitation and Physical Therapy · Special Populations · Specialties and Occupations in Sports Medicine · Sports and Society · Sports and Sports Medicine · Sports Psychology · Sports-Specific Injuries · Women and Sports
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Call us
303-963-3250
Text-a-Librarian
303-622-5333
Address: 8787 W. Alameda Ave. Lakewood, CO 80226 Phone: 303-963-3250 Email: cculibrary@ccu.edu