Search in the R's for medicine
GV201-2000 PE, Coaching, and Sport
QP1-801 Physiology
RA773-788 Personal health including exercise and nutrition
RC1200-1245 Sports Medicine
RD792-811 Physical Rehabilitation
RD792-811 Physical Rehabilitation
RJ125-145 Physiology of Children and Adolescents
RM182-950 Various Therapies including physical therap
Anatomy by
Anatomy: A Pressing Concern in Exercise Physiology is a thorough analysis of the importance of anatomy in exercise physiology courses. It presents a series of topics that cover key concept and terms in anatomy, muscle physiology, kinesiology, the use of imagery in anatomy, physical flexibility and the conventional study of cadavers. Readers of the book will receive reliable anatomical knowledge, well-researched cadaver information as well as information about good, useless, and dangerous exercises. Readers will essentially be equipped to supervise exercise training designed to be safe while providing a greater range of physical motion. Anatomy: A Pressing Concern in Exercise Physiology serves as a textbook for exercise physiologists in training and as a handbook for healthcare professionals involved in the physical training or rehabilitation of clients or patients.
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology by
How do athletes overcome fears, slumps, mental blocks, or injuries? How do they deal with stress and anxiety, be it from competitors, teammates, audiences, parents, coaches, or themselves? What psychological techniques prove effective in mental training for peak performance, maintaining concentration, motivation, and competitive drive? How can an athlete enhance his or her commitment to a training regimen, or how might the average person better adhere to a program of fitness and exercise? Readers will find answers to these questions and more in the Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology. Features & Benefits: Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings. From personal factors to situational factors influencing performance to specific psychological techniques for enhancing performance, this work provides comprehensive coverage of the field via approximately 350 to 400 signed entries. Entries conclude with cross-references and suggestions for further readings to guide students further in their research journey. Available in print and online, this monumental work is edited by two leading figures in the field with a distinguished international Editorial Advisory Board to select and assign entries, ensuring authoritative content readers can trust. Key Themes: Career Transition Certification, Credentialing, and Roles of Sport and Exercise Psychologists Disability Emotion Exercise Health Group Dynamics History and Foundation Leadership Morality, Aggression, and Ethics in Sport Motivation Motor Control Perception and Cognition in Sport Personality and Psychological Characteristics in Sport Psychobiology Psychological Skills/Interventions Psychosociocultural Self-Concept/Self-Perceptions, and Identity Youth Sport
Encyclopedia of Sports Management and Marketing by
Request a FREE 30-day online trial to this title at www.sagepub.com/freetrial_sroThis four-volume set introduces, on the management side, principles and procedures of economics, budgeting and finance; leadership; governance; communication; business law and ethics; and human resources practices; all in the sports context. On the marketing side this reference resource explores two broad streams: marketing of sport and of sport-related products (promoting a particular team or selling team- and sport-related merchandise, for example), and using sports as a platform for marketing non-sports products, such as celebrity endorsements of a particular brand of watch or the corporate sponsorship of a tennis tournament. Together, these four volumes offer a comprehensive and authoritative overview of the state of sports management and marketing today, providing an invaluable print or online resource for student researchers.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by
Professional sports is a huge industry, with much riding on the knees of even a single football player. But the playing fields are also filled with an abundance of 'weekend warriors' who value their own knees no less, and with increased participation in sports and exercise programmes, in general, comes increased risk of injury. Sports medicine is relevant not only to collegiate and professional athletes and the health professionals who treat and advise them, but also to parents and their children, amateur athletes and aging people maintaining a fitness regime. These four volumes present state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications. The work is broad ranging, covering all aspects of sports medicine with perspectives from the medical, behavioural, and social sciences and physical education. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum with entries included from such areas as body systems, regional injuries (craniofacial, shoulder, knee and so on), special populations (female, pediatric, older athletes), sport-specific injuries, rehabilitation, nutrition, substance use and abuse, sports psychology, the team physician and more.
Oxford American Handbook of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation by
Written by leading American practitioners, the Oxford American Handbooks of Medicine each offer a pocket-sized overview of an entire specialty, featuring instant access to guidance on the conditions that are most likely to be encountered. Precise and prescriptive, the handbooks offerup-to-date advice on examination, investigations, common procedures, and in-patient care. These books will be invaluable resources for residents and students, as well as a useful reference for practitioners.The Oxford American Handbook of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation is the essential ready reference guide to the study and practice of physiatry. The full range of the specialty is covered from managing specific symptoms, injuries and disorders to pediatrics, assistive technology and thepsychological and social issues associated with disability. Concisely written and generously illustrated with figures, diagrams and summary tables this is a must-have resource for any clinician in physical medicine and rehabilitation.Why choose the Oxford American Handbook of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation?The design....The Handbook uses a unique flexicover design that's durable and practical. Compact, light, and fits in your pocket! Also has quick reference tabs, four-color presentation, and bookmark ribbons to help provide fast answers.The interior layout....The Handbook is a quick reference in a small, innovative package. With one to two topics per page, it provides easy access and the emergency sections are in red to stand out. Icons throughout aid quick reference.The information....The Handbook succinctly covers all the essential topics in a one or two-page spread format with colored headings that break up the text and provide a logical structure for readers of all levels. Common clinical questions are answered clearly and extensively.The history....Oxford University Press is known around the world for excellence, tradition, and innovation. These handbooks are among the best selling in the world.The price....You get an extremely useful tool at a great value!
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Patient-Centered Care by
Built around the six core competencies for physicians practicing rehabilitation medicine as required by the ACGME, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Patient-Centered Care: Mastering the Competencies is a unique, self-directed text for residents. Covering all aspects of patient-centered care in the practice of physical medicine and rehabilitation, the book provides a competency-based approach to topics and conditions commonly encountered in this specialty. Thoughtfully organized chapters offer easy-to-access clinical content for all major practice areas, and the bookis competency-based goals and objectives also serve as a clear platform for educating physiatrists in training during their clinical rotations. The first part of the book presents the foundations of the core competencies (medical knowledge, professionalism, patient care, practice-based learning and improvement, system-based practice, and interpersonal and communication skills) with basic principles for application, and also includes chapters on implementing educational milestones, core professional education principles, and building leadership skills. In the second part, experts in the field apply these core competencies to the management of common conditions including stroke, spinal cord and brain injury, amputation and prosthetics, musculoskeletal disorders, multiple sclerosis, and much more. Each of these chapters identifies goals and objectives for each competency and concludes with a representative case study and self-assessment questions with answers and explanations. The book also provides references to key articles and links to internet-based educational materials. Practical tips, how-to and where-to guides, key points, tables, and charts also help to maintain current knowledge and competency in the many areas that comprise the field of PM&R. The book will be a valuable asset to physiatrists in training, program directors, and teaching faculty in rehabilitation medicine training programs, and for continuing professional development. Key Features: Addresses core competencies for rehabilitation medicine physicians as required by the ACGME Covers all major physiatric practice areas with facts, concepts, goals, and objectives following the competency model Grounded in a holistic, patient-centered approach Presents sample case studies with discussion points and self-assessment questions with answer key and explanations for each area to track progress and build clinical acumen
Textbook of Kinesiology by
Kinesiology is the study of human and nonhuman animal-body movements, performance, and function by applying the sciences of biomechanics, anatomy, physiology, psychology, and neuroscience. This book is a guide to human kinesiology for physiotherapists. Divided into three sections, the text begins with an introduction to the field, anatomical and physiological fundamentals of human motion, and biomechanics. The following section covers joint and muscle movement in different regions of the body, from shoulder, elbow, hand and wrist, to pelvis, hip, knee, ankle and foot, and spine. The final chapters discuss posture and movement and the application of kinesiology to daily life activities, sports skills and prevention of sports injuries. The comprehensive text is further enhanced by clinical photographs, illustrations and tables. Key points Comprehensive guide to human kinesiology for physiotherapists Provides clear understanding of anatomy, physiology and biomechanics Covers joint and muscle movement in all regions of the body Discusses application of kinesiology to daily life activities, sports and prevention of injuries
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Call us
303-963-3250
Text-a-Librarian
303-622-5333
Address: 8787 W. Alameda Ave. Lakewood, CO 80226 Phone: 303-963-3250 Email: cculibrary@ccu.edu