This guide introduces you to resources for this subject area. The resources listed here are a small number of those available. For more information, contact a librarian at 303-963-3250, through Chat, or the Book a Librarian service.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
These are often good places to begin your research. They provide a brief overview of topics and bibliographies for further reading.
Evangelical Dictionary of Christian Education by Michael J. Anthony (Editor)The comprehensive dictionary presents 850 articles representing the salient issues Christian educators face today. Each topic integrates scriptural principles with discoveries made in the fields of education, psychology, anthropology, sociology and philosophy. The articles explore the history, philosophy and theology of Christian education as well as provide insight into educational methodology, learning theory and practice, and relevant biblical issues.
Call Number: REF BV 1461 .E93 2001
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Youth Culture 101 by Walt MuellerCPYU President Walt Mueller's critically acclaimed book, Understanding Today's Youth Culture, is widely recognized as one of the most thorough and comprehensive overviews of youth culture today. This Gold Medallion Book Award winner is used as a seminal text in colleges, universities, and seminaries around the world, but is especially noted for its honest and easy to read style. The book approaches youth culture from a distinctively Christian perspective and contains chapters on a variety of topics including: music, media, sexuality, materialism, drugs and alcohol, and spirituality. A great resource for parents, educators, youth workers, and pastors.
Call Number: BV 4531.3 .M845 2007
Publication Date: 2007-05-27
The Popular Encyclopedia of Christian Counseling by Tim Clinton (General Editor); Ron Hawkins (General Editor); Skinner (Editor)Seasoned counselors and professors Tim Clinton and Ron Hawkins provide a landmark reference that offers a capstone definition of the emerging profession and ministry of the Christian counselor. Appropriate for professional counselors, lay counselors, pastors, students, and teachers, it includes nearly 300 entries by nearly 100 top Christian counselors. At approximately 500 pages, this practical guide focuses on functional aspects of Christian counseling and explores such important topics as... Christian counseling as a profession, ministry, and lay ministry Spiritual and theological roots Social, emotional, and relational issues Skills and essentials in Christian helping Ethical and legal considerations Intake, assessment, diagnosis, and treatment planning Premarital counseling, family therapy, and substance abuse Counselors will also find up-to-date information on solution-based brief therapy, cognitive therapy and biblical truth, and trauma and crisis intervention. An essential resource for maintaining a broad and up-to-date perspective on helping others.