These are often good places to begin your research. They provide a brief overview of topics and bibliographies for further reading.
Artificial Intelligence: Ethical, social and security impacts for the present and the future by
AI is much more than just a simple tool powering our smartphones or allowing us to ask Alexa about the latest cinema times. It is a technology that is, in very subtle but unmistakable ways, exerting an ever-increasing influence over our lives - and the more we use it, the more AI is altering our existence. The rise of AI and super-intelligent AI raises ethical issues. AI is the power behind Google's search engine, enables social media sites to serve up targeted advertising, and gives Alexa and Siri their voices. It is also the technology enabling self-driving vehicles, predictive policing, and autonomous weapons that have the ability to kill without direct human intervention. All of these bring up complex ethical issues that are still unresolved and will continue to be the subject of ongoing debate. This book explores the complex topic of AI ethics in a cross-functional way, alternating between theory and practice.
Big Breaches: Cybersecurity Lessons for Everyone by
The cybersecurity industry has seen an investment of over $45 billion in the past 15 years. It is time for everyone--not just techies--to become informed and empowered on the subject of cybersecurity. In engaging and exciting fashion, Big Breaches covers some of the largest security breaches and the technical topics behind them such as phishing, malware, third-party compromise, software vulnerabilities, unencrypted data, and more. These valuable lessons are applied to real-world cases, helping you deduce just how high-profile mega-breaches at Target, JPMorgan Chase, Equifax, Marriott, and more were able to occur.
The elements of computing systems: building a modern computer from first principles by
A new and extensively revised edition of a popular textbook used in universities, coding boot camps, hacker clubs, and online courses. The best way to understand how computers work is to build one from scratch, and this textbook leads learners through twelve chapters and projects that gradually build the hardware platform and software hierarchy for a simple but powerful computer system. In the process, learners gain hands-on knowledge of hardware, architecture, operating systems, programming languages, compilers, data structures and algorithms, and software engineering. Using this constructive approach, the book introduces learners to a significant body of computer science knowledge and demonstrates how theoretical and applied techniques taught in other computer science courses fit into the overall picture. The outcome of these efforts is known as Nand to Tetris: a journey that starts with the most elementary logic gate, called Nand, and ends, twelve projects later, with a general-purpose computer system capable of running Tetris.
Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence: the Past, Present, and Future of AI by
Some people believe that artificial intelligence (AI) will revolutionize modern life in ways that improve human existence. Others say that the promise of AI is overblown. Still others contend that AI applications could pose a grave threat to the economic security of millions of people by taking their jobs and otherwise rendering them "obsolete"--or, even worse, that AI could actually spell the end of the human race. This volume will help users understand the reasons AI development has both spirited defenders and alarmed critics; explain theories and innovations like Moore's Law, mindcloning, and Technological Singularity that drive AI research and debate; and give readers the information they need to make their own informed judgment about the promise and peril of this technology. All of this coverage is presented using language and terminology accessible to a lay audience.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology by
Computers play a crucial role in our day-to-day lives. With more than 150 black-and-white photographs and illustrations, ""Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology, Revised Edition"" provides a detailed examination of this fascinating field for students and general readers alike. This necessary update boasts more than 50 - per cent new material - a total of more than 550 updated entries, nearly 200 new to this edition, that reflect current information. Helpful appendixes include a chronology of significant events in computing, a listing of achievements in the field, and brief descriptions and contact information for some important organizations in the computer field. Major corporations and organizations in the computer field are now covered, as well as many new biographies. Further reading sections have been revised and expanded with the latest resources.
Mike Meyers' CompTIA Security+ Certification Guide, Third Edition (Exam SY0-601) by
An up-to-date CompTIA Security+ exam guide from training and exam preparation guru Mike Meyers Take the latest version of the CompTIA Security+ exam (exam SY0-601) with confidence using the comprehensive information contained in this highly effective self-study resource. Like the test, the guide goes beyond knowledge application and is designed to ensure that security personnel anticipate security risks and guard against them. Mike covers all exam objectives in small, digestible modules that allow you to focus on individual skills as you move through a broad and complex set of skills and concepts. The book features hundreds of accurate practice questions as well as a toolbox of the author's favorite network security related freeware/shareware. Provides complete coverage of every objective for exam SY0-601 Online content includes 20+ lab simulations, video training, a PDF glossary, and 180 practice questions.
A vulnerable system: the history of information security in the computer age by
This book delivers a long view of the history of information security, beginning with the creation of the first digital computers.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Call us
303-963-3250
Text-a-Librarian
303-622-5333
Address: 8787 W. Alameda Ave. Lakewood, CO 80226 Phone: 303-963-3250 Email: cculibrary@ccu.edu