These are often good places to begin your research. They provide a brief overview of topics and bibliographies for further reading.
Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics by
Designed to meet the needs of high school and college students as well as members of the general public seeking clear explanations of basic government and political topics, ""Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics"" is a comprehensive resource that is divided into nine sections containing more than 400 essay-length entries. Articles in this new three-volume encyclopedia address not only basic subjects covered in American government - from the Bill of Rights through voting processes - but a wide range of contemporary issues as well, such as abortion, capital punishment, and Social Security.The coverage includes: lobbying; municipal government; nationalization; North American Free Trade; Agreement (NAFTA); opinion polls; right to privacy; senate; social security; State of the Union; and town meeting.
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency by
The most up-to-date reference of its kind, ""Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Revised Edition"" is the definitive guide to the role of the president from the American Revolution through the present day. Offering a complete account of every presidential election in U.S. history, this fully revised A-to-Z encyclopedia will make a great first stop for students and general readers looking for information on the executive branch of the American government. Its comprehensive scope spans the relationship between the executive and the other branches of government, court cases, elections, political opponents, scandals, and more. A valuable resource that provides concise information, ""Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Revised Edition"" contains approximately 700 entries and many wonderful black-and-white illustrations. It includes: George W. Bush; Commander in chief; Economic policy; Executive privilege; Impeachment; Iraq War; Thomas Jefferson; Military tribunals; Barack Obama; Oval office; The Secret Service; Veto power; and, White House.
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by
An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more. Each article, specially commissioned for this book, goes beyond basic facts to provide readers with crucial context, expert analysis, and informed perspectives on the evolution of American politics. Written by more than 170 leading historians and social scientists, The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History gives students, scholars, and researchers authoritative introductions to the subject's most important topics and a first step to further research. Features nearly 190 entries, organized alphabetically and written by a distinguished team of scholars, including Dean Baker, Lewis L. Gould, Alexander Keyssar, James T. Kloppenberg, Patricia Nelson Limerick, Lisa McGirr, Mark A. Noll, Jack N. Rakove, Nick Salvatore, Stephen Skowronek, Jeremi Suri, and Julian E. Zelizer Describes key political periods and eras, from the founding to the present day Traces the history of political institutions, parties, and founding documents Explains ideas, philosophies, and movements that shaped American politics Presents the political history and influence of geographic regions Describes the roles of ethnic, racial, and religious groups in the political process Explores the influence of mass culture, from political cartoons to the Internet Examines recurring issues that shape political campaigns and policy, from class, gender, and race to crime, education, taxation, voting, welfare, and much more Includes bibliographies, cross-references, appendixes, a comprehensive index, and more than 50 illustrations and maps
The U. S. Constitution A to Z by
There is no other volume that so clearly and concisely explains every key aspect of the U.S. Constitution. This classic, easy-to-use reference is thoroughly updated with new entries covering the events of recent years including court cases with impact on Constitutional rights. Each of the more than 250 entries, arranged in encyclopedic A-to-Z format, provides accessible insight into the key questions readers have about the U.S. Constitution. All entries are updated with content through the end of 2007. Highlights in this new edition include: Quick answers to questions as well as in-depth background on the U.S. Constitution A new interior design that makes accessing information easy and fun Historical and contemporary photos Internet addresses for quick reference Detailed appendices, tables, and an index New entries include: Kelo v. New London Hamdi v. Rumsfeld Lawrence v. Texas The Patriot Act Sex Offenders Torture Gay marriage and civil unions
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Call us
303-963-3250
Text-a-Librarian
303-622-5333
Address: 8787 W. Alameda Ave. Lakewood, CO 80226 Phone: 303-963-3250 Email: cculibrary@ccu.edu