Business

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance by Gale This encyclopedia covers five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include executives, government administrators and scholars from leading business programs from around the United States.

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by Matthew Miskelly "This completely new third volume of Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Strategies (formerly Encyclopedia Of Major Marketing Campaigns) explores 100 major marketing strategies for some of the top global and emerging brands from 2011-2012. Entries will profile major product/service, mobile app, social media, brand development, packaging, and television strategies amongst other types. Each essay provides a situation analysis, information on the target market, marketing strategy & tactics, and the outcome. Essays are aligned to the strategic marketing framework ensuring that the marketing strategies can easily be utilized in an academic environment as case studies, or illustrative examples often times described as ""war stories"" by professors. "

Encyclopedia of Management by Gale Encyclopedia of Management (EoM) provides authoritative information on the ever-changing field of business management. This comprehensive resource explores hundreds of topics in management theory and application, from balance sheets to virtual organizations. ? Perfect for students, business owners, and entrepreneurs as well as marketing professionals and general researchers studying business and economics, this respected resource features more than 300 detailed essays. Essays include cross-references to allow users to quickly access information and explore related concepts. EoM, 7th edition was published in 2012.

Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History by Gale This title presents vast era overviews, event and movement profiles, biographies, business and industry profiles, geographic profiles, and more.

The Harvard Business Review Manager's Handbook by Harvard Business Review The one primer you need to develop your managerial and leadership skills. Whether you’re a new manager or looking to have more influence in your current management role, the challenges you face come in all shapes and sizes--a direct report’s anxious questions, your boss’s last-minute assignment of an important presentation, or a blank business case staring you in the face. To reach your full potential in these situations, you need to master a new set of business and personal skills. Packed with step-by-step advice and wisdom from Harvard Business Review’s management archive, the HBR Manager’s Handbook provides best practices on topics from understanding key financial statements and the fundamentals of strategy to emotional intelligence and building your employees’ trust. The book’s brief sections allow you to home in quickly on the solutions you need right away--or take a deeper dive if you need more context. Keep this comprehensive guide with you throughout your career and be a more impactful leader in your organization. In the HBR Manager’s Handbook you’ll find: - Step-by-step guidance through common managerial tasks - Short sections and chapters that you can turn to quickly as a need arises - Self-assessments throughout - Exercises and templates to help you practice and apply the concepts in the book - Concise explanations of the latest research and thinking on important management skills from Harvard Business Review experts such as Dan Goleman, Clayton Christensen, John Kotter, and Michael Porter - Real-life stories from working managers - Recaps and action items at the end of each chapter that allow you to reinforce or review the ideas quickly The skills covered in the book include: - Transitioning into a leadership role - Building trust and credibility - Developing emotional intelligence - Becoming a person of influence - Developing yourself as a leader - Giving effective feedback - Leading teams - Fostering creativity - Mastering the basics of strategy - Learning to use financial tools - Developing a business case

How to write a business plan: a step-by-step guide to creating a plan that gets results by Griffin, Michael P., This guide presents the latest thinking on effective business planning. From diagnosing and measuring customer satisfaction to finding innovative ways to raise capital, this fifth edition explains how to organize and implement the planning process from beginning to end and position a company for success. Students will learn how to: evaluate a business's capabilities, strengths, and weaknesses; pinpoint crucial elements of the competitive environment, including market, economic, and technological factors; establish realistic goals, objectives, and strategies in areas including marketing, organization and management, production/services, R&D, finance, and information technology; develop operating and financial plans; identify and integrate customer requirements into the business plan; write the actual planning document and use it to steer a company to greater productivity and profits; obtain the capital needed to grow a business.

Innovations in e-Systems for Business and Commerce by Seifedine Kadry (Editor); Abdelkhalak El Hami (Editor) Innovations in E-Systems for Business and Commerce presents some of the latest research and direction in the field of e-business and e-commerce. With up-to-date information for top researchers from around the world, the volume covers a wide selection of topics on innovations in e-business and e-commerce. E-systems are becoming standard practice across all sectors, including healthcare, engineering, business, education, security, and citizen interaction with local and national government. The use of Internet technologies facilitates rapid and easy dissemination of information and data as well as increased convenience and efficiency to assist service providers and end-users. This book is aimed at three groups of people: undergraduate students and postgraduate students conducting research in the areas of e-systems related to e-business or e-commerce; researchers at universities and other institutions working in these fields; and practitioners in the research and development departments of industrial settings. The volume can also be used as an advanced reference for classroom use.

The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy by Kenneth A. Reinert, et. al. (Editors) Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this two-volume encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals. Written by an international team of contributors, this comprehensive reference includes more than 300 up-to-date entries covering a wide range of topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development. These topics include concepts and principles, models and theory, institutions and agreements, policies and instruments, analysis and tools, and sectors and special issues. Each entry includes cross-references and a list of sources for further reading and research. Complete with an index and a table of contents that groups entries by topic, The Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy is an essential resource for anyone who needs to better understand the global economy. Features: ? More than 300 alphabetically arranged articles on topics in international trade, finance, production, and economic development International team of contributors Annotated list of further reading with each article Topical list of entries Full index and cross-references Entry categories and sample topics: ? Concepts and principles: globalization, anti-globalization, fair trade, foreign direct investment, international migration, economic development, multinational enterprises Models and theory: Heckscher-Ohlin model, internalization theory, New Trade Theory, North-South trade, Triffin dilemma Institutions and agreements: European Union, International Monetary Fund, World Trade Organization, World Bank, Doha Round, international investment agreements Policies and instruments: dollar standard, international aid, sanctions, tariffs Analysis and tools: exchange rate forecasting, effective protection, monetary policy rules Sectors and special issues: child labor, corporate governance, the digital divide, health and globalization, illegal drugs trade, petroleum, steel

The SAGE Handbook of Small Business and Entrepreneurship by Robert Blackburn; Dirk De Clercq; Jarna Heinonen; Zhongming Wang (Editors) The SAGE Handbook of Small Business and Entrepreneurship offers state-of-the-art chapters on all aspects of this rapidly-evolving discipline. Original contributions from the best international scholars map the development of Entrepreneurship as an academic field, explore its key current debates and research methods, and also consider its future directions. Part One: The People and the Entrepreneurial Processes Part Two: Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management and Organization Part Three: Entrepreneurial Milieu Part Four: Researching Small Business Entrepreneurship This handbook will be the leading reference book for Entrepreneurship academics and researchers, as well as those from other associated disciplines including business and management, psychology, marketing, sociology and anthropology.