The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon by
A trio of eminent Old Testament scholars--Francis Brown, R. Driver, and Charles Briggs--spent over twenty years researching, writing, and preparing "The Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon." Since it first appeared in the early part of the twentieth century, BDB has been considered the finest and most comprehensive Hebrew lexicon available to the English-speaking student. Based upon the classic work of Wilhelm Gesenius, the "father of modern Hebrew lexicography," BDB gives not only dictionary definitions for each word, but relates each word to its Old Testament usage and categorizes its nuances of meaning. BDB's exhaustive coverage of Old Testament Hebrew words, as well as its unparalleled usage of cognate languages and the wealth of background sources consulted and quoted, render BDB and invaluable resource for all students of the Bible.
Collins French Dictionary by
Up-to-date coverage of today's language Offers over 40,000 entries and 70,000 translations Easy-to-use format Contains commonly used phrases and idioms Main irregular verb forms given Includes most common abbreviations, acronyms, and geographic names Pronunciations for English and French shown in the International Phonetic Alphabet
Collins Latin Dictionary
A comprehensive Latin-English dictionary, containing translations of many words and phrases, the Collins Latin Dictionary is an ideal companion for anyone studying Classical or Mediaeval Latin. The dictionary provides a comprehensive treatment of the vocabulary of texts read in school and university.
Collins Spanish Dictionary by
Collins Spanish Dictionary Spanish-English English-Spanish Up-to-date coverage of today's language Offers over 40,000 entries and 70,000 translations Easy-to-use format Includes additional entries on life and culture Notes on words which are commonly confused Contains in-depth treatment of key vocabulary such as do, make, poner and poder Pronunciations for English and Spanish shown in the International Phonetic Alphabet
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature by
Described as an "invaluable reference work" (Classical Philology) and "a tool indispensable for the study of early Christian literature" (Religious Studies Review) in its previous edition, this new updated American edition of Walter Bauer's W#65533;rterbuch zu den Schriften des Neuen Testaments builds on its predecessor's staggering deposit of extraordinary erudition relating to Greek literature from all periods. Including entries for many more words, the new edition also lists more than 25,000 additional references to classical, intertestamental, Early Christian, and modern literature. In this edition, Frederick W. Danker's broad knowledge of Greco-Roman literature, as well as papyri and epigraphs, provides a more panoramic view of the world of Jesus and the New Testament. Danker has also introduced a more consistent mode of reference citation, and has provided a composite list of abbreviations to facilitate easy access to this wealth of information. Perhaps the single most important lexical innovation of Danker's edition is its inclusion of extended definitions for Greek terms. For instance, a key meaning of "episkopos" was defined in the second American edition as overseer; Danker defines it as "one who has the responsibility of safeguarding or seeing to it that something is done in the correct way, guardian." Such extended definitions give a fuller sense of the word in question, which will help avoid both anachronisms and confusion among users of the lexicon who may not be native speakers of English. Danker's edition of Bauer's W#65533;rterbuch will be an indispensable guide for Biblical and classical scholars, ministers, seminarians, and translators.
The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology by
This comprehensive dictionary by one of our century's greatest language scholars provides a clear and brief account of the origins, history, and sense-development of more than 38,000 words.
The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology by 
The Oxford English Dictionary by
An accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. This work traces the usage of words through 3 million quotations from a range of international English language sources. Accompanying each definition is a chronologically arranged group of quotations that trace the usage of words, and show the contexts in which they can be used.
Tuttle Pocket Mandarin Chinese Dictionary by
This handy Mandarin dictionary allows you to look up words quickly and easily--and be understood while speaking. TheTuttle Pocket Mandarin Chinese Dictionary is a pocket-sized dictionary designed for travelers, business people, and beginner Chinese language students. It contains all the most common Chinese vocabulary you will need. Extensively revised and expanded, this new edition includes over 20,000 entries. A reference guide to the essentials of Chinese grammar and pronunciation are provided to ensure you will be understood when speaking. Features of this Chinese dictionary include: Complete English-Chinese and Chinese-English sections Headwords are printed in bold for easy reference Alternate meanings of the same word (in English or Chinese) are clearly distinguished Includes the latest IT, mobile phone, Internet and social media terminology
Usage Dictionary English-German / German-English - Gebrauchswörterbuch Englisch-Deutsch / Deutsch-Englisch by
This dictionary offers quick and reliable practical guidance in helping users switch competently between English and German. It comprises up-to-date key words and phrases selected and based on expert knowledge in international dictionary research and practice. Successful communication in professional, commercial and personal life depends fundamentally on the mastery of these words and phrases.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Call us
303-963-3250
Text-a-Librarian
303-622-5333
Address: 8787 W. Alameda Ave. Lakewood, CO 80226 Phone: 303-963-3250 Email: cculibrary@ccu.edu