This guide introduces you to resources for this subject area. The resources listed here are a small number of those available. For more information, contact a librarian at 303-963-3250, through Chat, or the Book a Librarian service.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
These are often good places to begin your research. They provide a brief overview of topics and bibliographies for further reading.
Handbook of Counseling and Psychotherapy in an International Context by Roy Moodley; Uwe P. Gielen; Rosa WuMany factors in the world today, such as globalization and a rise in immigration, are increasing the need for mental health practitioners to acquire the ability to interact effectively with people of different cultures. This text will be the most comprehensive volume to address this need to date, exploring the history, philosophy, processes, and trends in counseling and psychotherapy in countries from all regions of the globe. Organized by continent and country, each chapter is written by esteemed scholars drawing on intimate knowledge of their homelands. They explore such topics as their countries' demographics, counselor education programs, current counseling theories and trends, and significant traditional and indigenous treatment and healing methods. This consistent structure facilitates quick and easy comparisons and contrasts across cultures, offering an enhanced understanding of diversity and multicultural competencies. Overall, this text is an invaluable resource for practitioners, researchers, students, and faculty, showing them how to look beyond their own borders and cultures to enhance their counseling practices.
Quick Scripture Reference for Counseling Series by VariousNow in its fourth edition, this classic reference book helps counselors, pastors, and individual Christians with specific personal needs find sound scriptural guidance for resolving problems and growing in faith. The updated cover and packaging will attract new buyers to this already popular reference tool.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders by Jack S. Damico (Editor); Martin J. Ball (Editor)The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders is an in-depth encyclopedia aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication--both normal and disordered--across the lifespan. This timely and unique set looks at the spectrum of communication disorders, from causation and prevention to testing and assessment; through rehabilitation, intervention, and education. The encyclopedia covers a wide range of health issues, such as Asperger′s syndrome, fetal alcohol syndrome, anatomy of the human larynx, and dementia. It also includes topics on core psychology and cognitive sciences, for example social development, stigma, language acquisition, self-help groups, memory, depression, memory, Behaviorism, and cognitive development. Education is covered in topics such as cooperative learning, special education, and classroom-based service delivery, Entries across the four volumes come from top researchers and clinicians from multiple fields.
Call Number: Access Online
Publication Date: 2019-04-10
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy by Edward S. NeukrugThe SAGE Encyclopedia of Theory in Counseling and Psychotherapy is a two-volume source that traces theory and examines the beginnings of counseling and psychotherapy all the way to current trends and movements. This reference work draws together a team of international scholars that examine the global landscape of all the key counseling and psychotherapy theories and the theorists behind them while presenting them in context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. This is a quick, one-stop source that gives the reader the "who, what, where, how, and why" of contemporary counseling and psychotherapy theory. From historical context in which the theories were developed to the theoretical underpinnings which drive the theories, this reference encyclopedia has detailed and relevant information for all individuals interested in this subject matter. Features & Benefits: Approximately 335 signed entries fill two volumes available in a choice of print or electronic formats. Back matter includes a Chronology of theory within the field of counseling to help students put individual theories within a broader context. A Master Bibliography and a Resource Guide to key books, journals, and organizations guide students to further resources beyond the encyclopedia. The Reader's Guide, a detailed Index and the Cross References combine for effective search-and-browse in the e-version and helps students take the next steps in their research journeys. This reference encyclopedia serves as an excellent source for any individual interested in the roots of contemporary counseling and psychotherapy theory. It is ideal for the public and professionals, as well as for students in counselor education programs especially those individuals who are pursuing a Masters level degree.