These are often good places to begin your research. They provide a brief overview of topics and bibliographies for further reading.
Dictionary of Media and Communications by
Equally accessible to college and high school students and the general public, this authoritative reference provides a complete listing of media concepts, figures, and techniques with illustrations and historical commentary.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. They cover new applications and developments, such as the incorporation of Neuroscience techniques in advertising and marketing. Other updates include Cyber-bullying, Twitter scandals, conduct in media organizations, on-line lobbying, global protesting/petitioning, and gender issues relating to social media in general. While new entries explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years, the purpose of this new edition is not necessarily to keep abreast of every new media event but to reflect the trends that influence and prompt such events, such as the Leveson Inquiry and Report and phone hacking via mobile phones. Politics seems to be playing out more on Twitter than in The Times. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
Substantially revised and updated, the sixth edition of the Watson & Hill Dictionary is a key resource for students of all aspects of communication. It provides an aid to the study of interpersonal communication, the theory of communication, media history, and technological development, balancing the specifics of, for example, legislation affecting media performance with the major themes central to most programs of study--audience, cultural interaction through media, globalization and issues surrounding the impact of technology on society, and the nature of ownership and control. The Dictionary of Media & Communication Studies is also accessible to the general reader interested in keeping up with media events and curious to explore some of the subject's fascinating terrain.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communication by
This compact, practical research manual that will help students, scholars, and general readers alike unlock the significance of the terminology, concepts, and historical movements of semiotics and related fields.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders is an in-depth encyclopedia aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication--both normal and disordered--across the lifespan. This timely and unique set looks at the spectrum of communication disorders, from causation and prevention to testing and assessment; through rehabilitation, intervention, and education. The encyclopedia covers a wide range of health issues, such as Asperger′s syndrome, fetal alcohol syndrome, anatomy of the human larynx, and dementia. It also includes topics on core psychology and cognitive sciences, for example social development, stigma, language acquisition, self-help groups, memory, depression, memory, Behaviorism, and cognitive development. Education is covered in topics such as cooperative learning, special education, and classroom-based service delivery, Entries across the four volumes come from top researchers and clinicians from multiple fields.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Call us
303-963-3250
Text-a-Librarian
303-622-5333
Address: 8787 W. Alameda Ave. Lakewood, CO 80226 Phone: 303-963-3250 Email: cculibrary@ccu.edu