Skip to main content

Ask: Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I cite my book/article/video?
How do I find an article for my research paper?
Full text – cannot find or unavailable
Error message from database
How do I find the full text to an article I found?
What is peer review?
What is scholarly?
I am not a student at CCU can I use the library?
How do I access an eBook?
I know the article I want to find but I can’t find it in the library.
How do I pay a fine?
How do I request an interlibrary loan or an item the library doesn’t have?
How do I cancel/reschedule my book a librarian appointment?
What are primary sources?
What are the library’s hours?
How do I begin researching?
How do I renew my book?
When will my requested book/article arrive?
How long can I check out a book?
I don’t know my library card number.
How do I see what I have on hold?
What is EZProxy?
How do I reserve a study room/conference room?
How can I donate my book(s) to the library?
How do I request the library purchase a book it doesn’t have?
Does the library offer a prize for undergraduate research?
How do I find a book with a call number?
I lost my book, what do I do?
How do I sign up for text notices?
How do I apply to work in the library?
Does the library offer proctoring?
Does the library have a notary?
where are our books?
where are reserves?
how do I get a library card?
wheres the bathroom?
how do I connect to wifi?
how do I copy/scan?
why isn't the printer working?
how do I check print balance?
where else can I print?
how do I search the catalog?

How do I cite my book/article/video

How do I cite my book/article/video?

The current edition of the citation manual is the authority for how to cite and format in the style you are required or choose to employ. Almost all of CCU's resources provide a citation generator for the resource you are viewing.  Additionally, there are many online resources that can help explain the manuals or help generate citations.

To find your citation manual, locate CCU's citation tools and more, please view the Writing Guide

 

 

 

How do I find an article for my research paper

How do I find an article for my research paper?

Articles can be found in a number of ways depending on the type of resource and other variables. The most common ways to search are

1. Finding the relevant subject guide for your topic and finding a database on that subject within the guide. Guides logo

2. Searching EDS, a general search box on the library's homepage. Simply navigate to https://ccu.edu/library and click on the yellow articles tab in the center of the screen. Enter your search term there and click search.

Full text – cannot find or unavailable

Full text – cannot find or unavailable

Finding full text can be frustrating and the answer to why you are unable to find it is complicated. Here are a few things you can try.

1. Make sure you have the "Full Text" limiter selected in your search. full text limiter image

2. Chat with a librarian for help. chat with a librarian

3. Interlibrary Loan. If CCU doesn't have access to the full text you are looking for, submit a request for this full text to be borrowed from another library. Simply email a full citation of the article you are looking for to cculibrary-ill@ccu.edu 

Error message from database

Error message from database

Error messages from any website or database can be caused from a number of problems. Here are some helpful tips to try and troubleshoot this yourself before asking for help.

1. Try clearing your browser's history. View this page to learn how.

2. Try chatting with a librarian to see if they can quickly solve this issue. chat

3.  Submit a work order a librarian will get to the bottom of the issue and help you find resources you need in the meantime. 

How do I find the full text to an article I found

How do I find the full text to an article I found?

How do I find the full text to an article I found?

If you already know the article you want to view and you can't seem to find it in EDS, you can search by journal title instead.

1. navigate to https://ccu.edu/library

2. click on yellow articles tab. 

3. click on "Search by journal title or subject" link.

4. Search by journal title rather than by article title. 

 

What is Peer Review?

What is Peer Review?

Peer Review is a process that an article goes through before being published in a reputable peer reviewed journal.

  1. Author submits their draft article to a journal that has peer review.
  2. That journal’s editor checks to see if the article fits the specification of the journal
  3. Then the editor sends the article to peer review, a group of experts in the same field as the article, sometimes called referees. They answer the following questions about the article.
    1. What is the article ABOUT
    2. Is the research INTERESTING
    3. Is the research IMPORTANT
    4. Is the METHODOLOGY sound
    5. Is it LOGICAL
    6. Is the content ORIGINAL
  4. Then the referees make their recommendation
    1. ACCEPT which happens the first time rarely
    2. REVISE which happens more often
    3. REJECT which happens to as much as 90% of the time depending on the journal.
  5. Once an article makes it past peer review, the Editor makes any final edits

While peer review can cause some drawbacks, such as ideas being dated since the process takes time and that rejected research is common and can cause accepted research to be more mainstream

Peer review is good for

  • QUALITY CONTROL
  • HIGHER ESTEEM
  • And ultimately TRUST

If you need help finding peer reviewed articles be sure to check a box like this one when searching.

Be sure to Book A Librarian if you need help finding peer reviewed sources. Book A Librarian

What is scholarly

What is scholarly?

You may come across a button that mentions Scholarly. Usually this button is paired with Peer Reviewed. scholarly

What does it mean? In terms of these databases it is merely a synonym of Peer Reviewed.  In fact there are several words that describe a high quality article that is 9 out of 10 times peer reviewed. 

  • Research articles
  • Scholarly articles
  • Academic articles
  • Refereed articles
  • Peer Reviewed articles

Whichever word is used, it tends to mean a quality article from a reputable journal.

I am not a student at CCU can I use the library

I am not a student at CCU can I use the library?

Yes! while CCU students and employees primarily use the library, members of the community are welcome as well.

  • Community Borrowers can check out one item at a time ("Visiting Patrons", above, can check out more items). 
  • If computers are available, you are welcome to use one. Please ask at the circulation desk and we will log you in. 
  • Community Borrowers can access our databases & electronic resources from within the library.
  • Community Borrowers are not allowed to place items on hold in our catalog.  Please ask us about placing holds through Prospector if you have an account with another library in Prospector.

To view our complete Checkout Policy click here.

How do I access an eBook?

How do I access an eBook?

eBooks make up 2/3's of the library's owned collection (i.e. not articles).

Here is a complete guide to how to access an ebook.

If this guide is not helping. Please try connecting with the library. 

I know the article I want to find but I can’t find it in the library.

I know the article I want to find but I can’t find it in the library.

If you already know the article you want to view and you can't seem to find it in a library database, you can search by journal title instead. A method that can confirm whether CCU has access to the article you are looking for.

1. navigate to https://ccu.edu/library

2. click on yellow articles tab. 

3. click on "Search by journal title or subject" link.

4. Search by journal title rather than by article title. 

How do I pay a fine?

How do I pay a fine?

  • Fines are .20/day per item.

  • For reserve items, fines are .20/hour per item.

  • Paying Fines: Fines and replacement fees can be paid for with cash, check, or an Amazon gift card emailed to the library at cculibrary@ccu.edu.  Please include your name and student ID number in the email.

How do I request an interlibrary loan or an item the library doesn’t have?

How do I request an interlibrary loan or an item the library doesn’t have?

There are many borrowing options available and they are listed on this page.

Interlibrary Loan's can be requested by simply sending a complete citation of the resource you need to cculibrary-ill@ccu.edu 

How do I cancel/reschedule my book a librarian appointment?

How do I cancel/reschedule my book a librarian appointment?

After you have signed up for an appointment you should have received an email confirming your appointment. Within that email you can edit or cancel your appointment. If you cannot access this confirmation email feel free to contact the library and we can edit/cancel your Book A Librarian appointment.

What are primary sources?

What are primary sources?

Primary Sources are sources that allow researchers to get as close as possible to original ideas, event, and empirical research as possible.  Such sources may include creative works, first hand or contemporary accounts of events, and the publication of the results of empirical observations or research.

What are the library’s hours?

What are the library's hours?

The library's hours can be accessed at https://libguides.ccu.edu/about/hours .  For the fall and spring hours are generally:

Sun.      2:00 pm - Midnight

Mon.     7:30 am - Midnight

Tues.    7:30 am - Midnight

Wed.    7:30 am - Midnight

Thurs.  7:30 am - Midnight

Fri.       8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sat.     10:00 am - 5:00 pm

*Note that the hours change over the holidays, school breaks, and during the summer months.

 

How do I begin researching?

How do I begin researching?

As you begin your research project, see this brief tutorial that walks through the following topics:

1.  Understanding the assignment

2.  Topic development

3.  Searching for information

4.  Evaluating resources

5.  Citing sources

How do I renew my book?

How do I renew my book?

AGo to the Account Login page and log in to your account.  From there you will see the books you have checked out and have the option to renew items.

When will my requested book/article arrive?

When will my requested book/article arrive?

The arrival date of your item will depend on which platform it was borrowed from.

Books borrowed through Prospector will generally arrive in 3-5 days.

Articles borrowed through InterLibrary Loan will generally arrive in 48 hours.  Books through InterLibrary Loan may take 1-2 weeks.

Books borrowed through Mobius generally arrive in 2 weeks.

How long can I check out a book?

How long can I check out a book?

Books can generally be checked out for 3 weeks with 2 renewals.  Prospector items are 3 week checkouts with 1 renewal.  See additional checkout policies.

I don't know my library card number.

I don't know my library card number.

Your library card number is the same as your CCU ID Number.  At the library, we can look up your account or checkout books using your full name.

How do I see what I have on hold?

How do I see what I have on hold?

1.  Log in to your CCU Library account

2.  Under the "My Account" header you will see "Titles on Hold."  Click through on this link to see any holds that are ready for pickup along with pending holds.

What is EZProxy?

What is EZProxy?

xxx

How do I reserve a study room/conference room?

How do I reserve a study/conference room?

There are 6 individual study rooms in the library that are not on a reservation system.  To reserve an individual room, contact the Circulation desk at 303-963-3250.

There is one small conference room that can be reserved online through the website.  To reserve it:

1.  From the CCU Library page, click on "Services" which will give you a drop down menu with "Study Rooms" as an option.  Click on that link.

2.  Click on the "Reserve a Conference Room" tab, which will allow you to search from and choose available times the room is open.

Quicklinks

 

One on One Appointments with a Librarian!
Java script disabled or chat offline
List of Databases A - Z Start here to begin your research!
Brief Library Tutorial Videos Reserve a Room
Suggest a Purchase. Have a suggestion?
Renew materials and more! Find out when the library is open

Text-a-Librarian
303-622-5333